Skip to main content


Located at 121° East and 24.6° North in the Northern Hemisphere, Hsinchu County is in the northwest of Taiwan, the beautiful Formosa Island. Hsinchu County borders Taoyuan City in the north and Miaoli County in the south. To the west are the Taiwan Strait and the Xueshan Mountain Range. To the east is Dabajian Mountain. Mountains surround the county in three directions. Hills, plateaus and mountains dominate the county’s topography with the exception of certain river valleys and the alluvial plains at the estuaries of Fongshan River and Toucian River. Hsinchu County’s land area totals 1,427.5931 km².